Who Pays For Car Accident Compensation In Texas?
Our attorneys fight for the rights of auto accident victims
Car accidents can happen day or night in San Antonio. And they can leave you with serious injuries. These injuries can take weeks, months or years to recover from and leave you with mounting medical bills. They can also leave you unable to return to work, while other bills keep coming in.
When you've been injured in a car wreck, you have the right to seek financial compensation. But getting that compensation can be complicated. The experienced car accident attorneys at Herrera Law Firm can help. We fight to get injury victims the compensation they rightfully deserve. Here's a guide that describes your options for getting compensation after a car wreck.
Texas is a "fault" insurance state
When there is a car accident, one driver is generally considered "at fault" for the accident. In Texas, the at-fault driver is responsible for paying all accident-related expenses. Drivers in the state are required to have car insurance with minimum amounts of liability coverage for injuries and property damage. Those minimum limits are:
- $30,000 for each injured person, per accident
- $60,000 total for all injuries in an accident
- $25,000 for property damage, per accident
You can also choose to add optional insurance coverage. For example, you can add personal injury protection (PIP), to pay for medical expenses and a percentage of lost income. You can also add collision coverage, which pays for the damage to your vehicle. Another option is uninsured and underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage, which can pay for damages if you are in an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver.
Injured in a car wreck? File a claim with the at-fault driver's insurance company
If you file a an accident claim with the at-fault driver's insurance company, that's called a "third-party" claim. Such claims are often complicated. That's because the insurance company does not have your best interests at heart. They want to settle your claim quickly and cheaply, and make you go away. Often, they'll make you an offer immediately after your accident. But such offers rarely cover the true value of your claim. And in some cases, they may even say that you were more than 50 percent to blame for your accident. Our attorneys know the games insurance companies play and won't rest until we negotiate a fair settlement for you.
You can file a lawsuit against the at-fault driver
Most insurance companies are willing to negotiate. But sometimes, they may refuse to pay you the compensation you deserve. If that happens, we can file a lawsuit on your behalf and fight for your compensation in court. We know how to build a strong case that proves you were not to blame for the accident and shows you deserve to be compensated for your injuries.
If you've been injured in a car wreck, don't delay. Under Texas law, you have two years from the date of injury to file a lawsuit for damages. And taking quick action allows us to build a strong case on your behalf. Learn more about your legal options. Call 1-800-455-1054 to schedule a free case evaluation with one of our attorneys.